Prime Insurance Agency Blog

All You Ever Wanted to Know About Insurance

Banish the Killer



Say No to Drunk Driving in Indiana, in NJ -  and Everywhere

Dan Shragel, a police officer for the Indianapolis, Indiana force, is a hero. After all, having arrested close to 4,000 drivers under the influence of alcohol over the years certainly puts him in the category of making life safer for everyone.

On August 22nd, 2015, the impetus to rid the streets of intoxicated drivers took on an ironic twist of fate and tragedy: his 22-year-old daughter, Kristin Burton, was killed by a pickup truck that was driven by a man suspected of being drunk.

“I will…try to stop another mother or father from burying their child,” declares Officer Shragel, 48. The resolve is emphasized as he continues, “I need to do everything I can to make sure no other family goes through what we’ve gone through.” 

Driving Under the Influence in NJ

Driving under the influence of alcohol in the State of NJ will get you stiff punishment. As in other states, NJ has an implied consent law. This means that you are required to submit yourself to a breath test. Refusing could lead to detention, having a blood sample taken and penalties.

Drinking and Driving? NJ General Liability is Graver than You Think!

It’s the law: any individual who has a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% or more and drives is accountable for drunk driving.

It’s the law: Having less of a concentration is no insurance that a driver is off the hook. If a driver demonstrates impaired vehicle operation and has less than the specified BAC, he or she may still be convicted for drunk driving.

NJ First Offense Penalties

You drive with 0.08% BAC or more, yet a lesser amount than 0.10%; or you allow another driver (with 0.08% BAC or more, yet a lesser amount than 0.10%) to drive. You may be subject to:

  • A $250 to $400 fine
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Suspended license for 30 days
  • Minimum two successive 6-hour daily attendance at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Annual NJ auto insurance overcharge of $1,000 annually for three years

You drive with a BAC of 0.10% or more; or you allow another driver (with a BAC of 0.10%) to drive. You may be subject to:

  • A $300 to $500 fine
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Seven month – one year suspended license
  • Minimum two successive 6-hour daily attendance at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Annual auto insurance NJ overcharge of $1,000 for three years

You drive with a BAC of 0.15% or more. You must:

  • Connect an ignition interlock mechanism to the principle vehicle you operate throughout license suspension
  • Have ignition interlock in place for an additional six month – one year timespan following license reinstatement.

Access http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/downloads/dui-bro-eng.pdf for further penalty info.

                  

PRIME Insurance Joins the Battle

As a leading supplier of all forms of coverage, including NJ cheap auto insurance, low quote commercial umbrella insurance NJ, flood insurance, NJ renters insurance, NJ homeowners insurance, NJ bonds, NJ workers comp, NJ life insurance and more, we’re in the know about drunk drivers and related tragedy. Help PRIME spread the word: Say no to drinking and driving!

For all forms of nationwide insurance at competitively lowest quotes, visit us online HERE, email us at PRIME [at] primeins [dot] com or call us at 732-886-5751!


Discussion

There are no comments yet.


Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with

Comment

Your name, comment, and URL will appear on this page after it has been reviewed and approved. Your email address will not be published.